Girl in the Black Beret

Ello World.

Posted in Uncategorized by la vie de emie on December 14, 2009

My morning begins with the soothing aroma from an antique tea cup balanced within my fingers and the monotonous beating of freezing rain upon my ears.  I take the Sunday Styles portion of my beloved New York Times off my lap and place it on to the coffee table near by. I pick up my macbook. Hm.

As a recent English grad with a concentration in Communications, new media is right up my alley.  I absolutely love the english language.  For a while now I have wanted to begin a blog, but could never decide what to focus it on.  This difficulty in scope exists not due to a lack of interests, instead quite the opposite. I love fashion, nature, literature, foreign films, indie folk music, travel and much much else.  I am in a constant state of inspiration because life is changing right before my eyes.  At the ripe age of 22, I am about to make a life changing move to an unfamiliar city by myself.  So many dreams and thoughts, I am constantly questioning the world around me . I have this voice in my head urging me to forget all reason not to and just write.  Then I thought, why not just do it? Write about everything and anything. Yes this is a lofty task, but i am willing to try.

I sat with the wordpress sign up on the screen.  A blog name. What do people associate me with or define me as? Pretty intense, for that’s not a typical question I would ask myself.  Then, a lightbulb goes off.

Ah, my black beret. It is me.  In my beret, I have made close friends and lost touch with others, explored europe, cozied up in my room, strummed my guitar, strolled through autumn leaves, cried, laughed, sang, and loved.  The significance of this article of clothing first became apparent to me, when my Chekov- worshipping modern drama teacher met my father and said “aha, she is my little black beret girl.”

Preferring relative anonymity,’Girl in the Black Beret’ seems just as fitting, for the two of us go hand in hand.

Leave a Reply

